Sunsets + Buckwheat Granola

What an incredibly perfect weekend!  We stocked the house with fresh fruits and veggies from the Upcountry Farmer’s Market and then got some great family time… plus another DUCK football win!  I love school pride. 🙂

So last week I decided it was time to experiment with different types of grains so I scoured the bulk section and wound up coming home with buckwheat groats and barley (I’ll be posting a recipe I made with barley soon enough).  I looked high and low for a recipe including buckwheat groats that I liked and couldn’t find one, so I resolved to put the bag of groats in the cupboard until something came around that tickled my fancy.

As it always happens for me, I asked the universe and I received!

A few days ago a fellow food blogger Kath posted her recipe for Crunchy Buckwheat Granola!  I tweaked it a little to suit my lifestyle (bigger batch to give ‘ohana plus less oil/sugars) and I’ve got to tell you… it’s amazing!  Who knew buckwheat groats were so nutty and crunchy or that they’d pair so perfectly with seeds and coconut oil?  Yum!

Crunchy Buckwheat Granola

[Ingredients – makes about 7 and a half cups (30 servings) to share, but you can easily half the recipe]

[dry]

  • 4 c rolled oats
  • 1/4 c almonds (or any nuts you like)
  • 1.5 c raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/4 c raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1.5 c raw sunflower seeds

[wet]

  • 1/3 c coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (or honey / mixture of both)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla

[mix ins (optional)]

  • 3/4 c coconut
  • 1/2 c dried fruit (currants, raisins, cranberries, etc.)

Mix all ingredients (except mix-ins) together in a large bowl.

Bake at 300 degrees for one hour (either in a large metal bowl or a metal baking pan), stirring every 30 minutes until golden brown in color.  If granola clumps together or sticks, it’s okay.

Remove from oven and stir in any mix-ins (we decided against any mix-ins yesterday because it smelled so good as it was). Stir every half our or so while cooling.

Enjoy! Makes 30 (1/4 c) servings — much better (and cheaper) than store-bought and enough to share, for sure!

Nutrition Facts [1/4 c without mix-ins]

Calories 146 • Fat 7g Sat. Fat 2.7g • Sodium 25mg • Carbs 17g • Fiber 3g • Sugar 2.5g • Protein 4g

I practiced TurboKick and a little yoga while the granola cooled and was so excited to have a green protein smoothie (rice milk, banana, frozen berries, spirulina, a handful of spinach, BioChem protein and SuperSeed) in a bowl with a slice of banana topped with the awesome granola!  This granola is super crunchy and was good on it’s own as well!

The rest of the day was beautiful and ended with frisbee at the park with Ben and our good friend Zak.  I was filled with gratitude and awe as I ran around and got to watch the sun set on another wonderful day with best friends.

And now we’re off for adventures in paradise on a perfect day!

What’s your favorite part of the day?  What fills you with gratitude?

2 thoughts on “Sunsets + Buckwheat Granola

  1. runrantrealize says:

    The granola looks delicious! I’m going to once again say that I’m pretty jealous that you get to live in Hawaii… We’ve had nothing but rain for the last week, no pretty sunsets here.

    My favorite part of the day is actually the morning. I am a huge morning person and I love the excitement each new day brings.

Leave a Reply

