Angels + Wasabi-Lime Shrimp Tacos

First things first: One of my best friends Kamaile gifted me her Mama’s old angel cards as a new office present (along with the most fabulous amethyst).  Mama Girlie was one of my favorite people in the universe–she had such a powerful presence, loved life, had a great laugh and had the ability to make everyone she met feel like ‘ohana.  Every day at the new office I’ve been choosing two angel cards and placing them next to Kamaile’s amethyst.  It’s the first thing I do in the morning to remind myself that I am purposeful and special.  Here are the past two day’s angel cards:

They make me happy :).

Thanks to my little food epiphany the other day, I’ve been back on track with eating and I’m working on the exercise part.  My new position offers more flexibility which is nice since there’s a wellness center downstairs with offerings all throughout the day.  I ran my 3 miles this morning and made it to a yoga class at lunch!  I can already feel the difference from clean eats and more exercise. I feel more like myself today than I have for a while.  I also attribute this to one of my grad school classes being cancelled this week, which afforded me the ability to spend TWO nights at home with the hubby!  Woohoo!  I also got to make TWO green plate dinners!

The other night I was craving soft tacos.  I created a wasabi-lime sauce that we usually drizzle over chicken/shrimp and thought that would go really well with a shrimp taco! We’ve hosted soft-taco themed parties at our house before because it’s simple and everyone can have fun creating their own.  High in protein and nutrition, this recipe actually takes little time and prep, fills you up and is delicious!

Shrimp Tacos with Wasabi-Lime Coleslaw

[Ingredients]

[for wasabi-lime coleslaw]

  • 3 Tbsp vegenaise
  • 1 bunch (~1 c) cilantro
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • ~1 tsp dry wasabi powder (could easily use paste as well)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 head (~3 c shredded) cabbage

[for shrimp tacos]

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • ~2 c mushrooms
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 8 oz. shrimp
  • 1 Tbsp wasabi paste (or water mixed with powder)
  • ~1.5 c black beans
  • ~1.5 c cooked brown rice
  • 8 corn tortillas (I used Fresh Tortillas of Maui blue corn tortillas)

As we say in Hawai’i, go home cook rice! One cup of brown rice + two cups of water in a rice cooker (because that’s the only way to cook rice in Hawai’i) will yield you about 2 cups of cooked rice.  This will be the most time-consuming part of the meal since the rice takes about 20-30 mins.

Chop cabbage and put it in a bowl.

Blend all other coleslaw ingredients until smooth (if you like it spicier, add more spice!  Play with the taste a little to fit your desires).

Mix it all up and place it in the fridge to meld while you cook the rest.

Heat half the olive oil in a pan on medium heat.

Cook onions until transparent.

Add in the bell peppers and mushrooms.

Place cooked veggies on another plate.

Heat the other half of olive oil in the same pan.

Add shrimp.

Top each shrimp with a dab of wasabi (I did this just to add flavor… it’s not necessary) and cook just until pink on both sides.

Place beans in a bowl.

Have fun with the assembly!  We topped ours with avocado because–with amazing avos like these in season–there’s nothing better!


Makes enough for at least 8 good sized tacos (obviously I wasn’t even able to close my taco!)

Nutrition Facts [makes 8 generous servings – avocado not included]

Calories 241 • Fat 6g Sodium 132mg (can be greatly lessened by using dry beans rather than canned) • Carbs 33g • Fiber 4g • Sugar 1g • Protein 11g

And now–although I’d really like to post the second green plate dinner recipe of the week–I’m off to learn how to save the world (or at least learn how to help people cope) in my Master’s level Social Work class.

3 thoughts on “Angels + Wasabi-Lime Shrimp Tacos

Leave a Reply

