October Goals

Wonderful October!  How have you already crept up on me?  It feels like just yesterday that I was getting TurboKick instructor certified the weekend before marrying Ben and anxiously awaiting the arrival of all of my best friends.

It’s true – time does fly, especially when you’re having fun.  My wedding week was the best time of my life–being surrounded by all my favorite people was such a blessing.

So here we are, October 2010. And thank goodness.  The month of September was horrendous for me in more than one way.  But this is a chance to start fresh!  Something I’ve realized about myself is that I function best under rules.  Without order I have a hard time following through with anything.  So it’s no big surprise that this past month’s chaos sent me spiraling both emotionally and physically.

For one, let’s take the masters program schedule: I’m a morning person, so typically I’d be in bed around 9pm in order to wake up at 5 am for my morning exercise. As of the beginning of September I attend 3-hour classes three nights a week from 7-10 pm.  So the exercise routine (as well as sleep) have been up in the air.  Being in class also adds three more sittin-on-my-butt hours to those days (as opposed to walking at the park with Ben twice a week).

[This is what our classroom looks like.  I’m in the distance education cohort, so I take class with the other 7 or so Maui students and we’re joined via interactive television withour teacher and students from the other islands.  That black box in front of my textbook?  That’s the microphone.]

Also, I eat 5 small meals a day and had a schedule of eating my last meal around 7pm.  When I do that now I’m hungry again by around 9pm, which leads me to my next big hurdle:

The Vending Machine: not just a source of horrible, packaged foods, but also a huge waste of money.

So with all that said, I’ve devised a plan–which was put into effect yesterday (the first of the month) and will take me through the month of October (baby steps here, people).  I know what works for me and what doesn’t work.  I need to get back to what works!  As far as emotional health, my goals for this month are to blog and to write in my journal (I’ll shoot for blogging 3x/week and writing in my journal every day) as well as spend time with Ben at least once a day (even if it’s just eating one meal together).  I’ll also be focusing on keeping up on my readings so that I don’t feel so stressed.  Physically, I’ll still be working on my 15K/10-mile training plan but I need to get back to SparkPeople.  It’s what works to keep me focused and on track.  I need to diligently track my calories in as well as map my runs and count my calories out.  Tracking my calories and needing to stay accountable to my Spark friends have helped me consistently lose weight and get fit.  I get support from my Spark friends, read blogs, get recipe ideas, etc.  By the way, this is totally not an ad for Spark… I’m being 100% genuine when I say that it changed my life.  It’s what took me from a size 14

to a size 8 (and still going!) :).

So October, my goals for you are–yet again–simple yet significant.   I’ll stick to the basics that work for me: writing, reading, tracking.  I’ll take it one day at a time with my ultimate goal of happiness and health in the forefront of everything I do.  Here’s to another beautiful month of living fully!

What are your October goals?  Do you find that creating goals for yourself is helpful?

Leave a Reply

