Eat Local Challenge: The End + Coconut Butter

To start,

Gratitude

for the opportunity to express, create and imagine.  For the abundance that surrounds us all at all times.  And for the space to grow and become the people we want to be in this life.  I am a firm believer in practicing gratitude every day, even–and especially–on the days when I feel least happy.

Alright, now we can get on with the rest of it :).

So the Eat Local Challenge ended on October 2nd.  But I still have local recipes that I created during the challenge that I want to share with you all!  This will probably be the last one that I name under “Eat Local Challenge”, but trust me, there are many more local recips that will be shared on this blog :).

The challenge for me was less difficult than it was last year, mostly because I was prepared this time!  I got my local supplies ready before the challenge and was able to plan my meals for the week accordingly.  Of course, there are the usual difficulties: going out to eat and not being able to recognize things as local (especially on Maui), realizing that our fish at Foodland is from the Philippines, etc.  Overall, even if I live a “locavore” lifestyle normally, I’m still very grateful for the opportunity to take the challenge because it allows me to be part of a larger community–giving and receiving support along the way.

Alright, so the final Eat Local Challenge recipe I’m going to share with you all today was inspired by my newfound love of this stuff:

Aww yeah, the incredible edible coconut butter! While Ben says this stuff is too intense for his liking, I disagree.  I spread this creamy substance all over my sourdough rye bread, glob it on my steel cut oats or drop a spoonful into my protein shakes.  You may remember that I also made local vegan chocolate truffles with the incredible amino acid-filled butter as well!  It’s safe to say that I have a full-blown obsession with the stuff.

Combine that with the fact that Ben and I successfully made the most amazing home-made mac nut butter the other day, and the little light in my head went off!

After I drank all the water from a young coconut I opened it up to find lots of fresh, young meat. I decided it was time to attempt my own home-made local coconut butter! I really enjoy the fresh tropical taste and texture of the young coconut, but in the future I’m going to try it with older coconuts to add both more oil and more flavor.   I’ve been using this “young coco-butter” in my oats (and actually enjoy it more than the bottled stuff!) and plan on making nutritious muffins with the mixture very soon!

Home-Made Young Coconut Butter

[Ingredient]

  • Firm meat from one young coconut (coconut should still have water in it but the meat should be firm enough to break off from the shell)

Remove coconut meat from the shell (it’s up to you whether you leave the light brown coating or remove it)

Using your juicer (or any other nut-butter-making mechanism you have) homogenizing tool, run the meat through the processor.  If it comes out too chunky for your liking the first run through, put it through again very slowly.

The mixture should come out in a thick white paste.  Once it is the consistency you desire, either bottle the paste or place it in a bag and freeze for future use!

Enjoy! I personally bottled half the paste for my smoothies and oats and froze the other half for the muffins I’ll make one of these days :).

3 thoughts on “Eat Local Challenge: The End + Coconut Butter

  1. Therese says:

    I LOVE COCONUT BUTTER!!!!!!!!! Seriously, it’s the best edible product in the world! I suggest drizzling it over a baked sweet potato! Holy YUM!

    I am SO NERVOUS to make my own though! I’ve heard great success stories and total fail stories! LOL I guess the only way to figure it out is to try it myself! Do you think it matters what kind of coconut? I mean, obviously there are no native places in Canada to get my coconut from…

    • greenplatedinners says:

      oh. my. gosh. on a baked sweet potato! seriously, drooling. thanks for the great idea!

      to be completely honest I don’t know much about coconut types… I do know that you should go for the brown kind rather than the green if you want the most amount of oil and flavor (those are older) though… I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

