Citrus + Cactus!

Great morning!  To start, this morning’s angel cards from Mama Girlie:

In case you missed it, here was my ode to Mama Girlie (and my bestie Kamaile).  I love these angel cards–they resonate with me today especially :).

My masters program, a full-time (new) job and my training schedule are keeping me busy, to say the least.  On most mornings my alarm goes off at 5:30 after 7 hours of sleep (if I’m really lucky) and I stumble, half-asleep, into the bathroom to get ready for either a training run or a journal-writing session.  Wednesday mornings are my favorite because I get to sleep in until 5:45 and have breakfast at home! Those extra 15 minutes of sleep + home time makes all the difference in the world.  It means I actually get to see Ben in the morning!  And it also means I get to eat a meal at our kitchen table :).

This morning I already knew I’d be eating half a serving of steel cut oats (I make larger batches to last me a few days), but I wasn’t sure what else I’d be having.  And then I came across all the citrus we bought from the Farmer’s Market last weekend!

Jackpot!

[Jabong, lime, sour tangerines and bear limes.]

One of the things I love most about the Farmer’s Market is that I get to try things I’ve never tried before.  Since Hawai’i’s climate is ideal for growing almost everything, I’ve tried some crazy stuff.  Since fruit digests quicker than proteins and grains, I settled on a sour tangerine (I don’t remember what the proper name of these was–but these tiny suckers pack a punch!  They are more sour (sourer?) than lemons or limes, and are eaten in one or two bites–skin and all) followed by my steel cut oats with young coco “butter”.

Then I cut up a bear lime and put it in my water bottle for the day. Both lemon and lime juice are excellent alkalizers for the body and are great sources of vitamin C, B6, folic acid and potassium.  Plus they assist our bodies in detoxifying carcinogens and they add good flavor to water!  These bear limes are the size of lemons and taste like a cross between a lemon and a lime (the guy selling them at the market said he sold them as lemons for years before someone let him know what they actually were).  They contain tons of juice and aren’t too bitter or sour.  I love sour things, so sometimes I’ll just cut open a bear lime and eat it with a li hing mui seed!

But I digress.  I also cut open the jabong–which is related to grapefruit but bigger (I’m talkin’ up to 5 lbs!)–and took half for a delicious and juicy snack during the work day!  I work in a space that is surrounded with junk food (yesterday it was coffee cakes, bearclaws and pudding rings), so I’ve got to be prepared with wholesome, nutritious food.

And then I realized that I had also bought panini at the Farmer’s Market this past weekend!  These are harvested from cactus plants and are often called “prickly pear” on the mainland.  Upcountry Maui–especially Kula–is littered with cacti, but it wasn’t until last summer that I actually ate one of these:

It may be obvious by the photo, but these are packed with fiber (all those little seeds!) and are delicious when chilled!  Upon research I found out that panini is super high in flavonoids (which help protect the immune system and fight free radicals) and offers great protection for both cells and organs.  Many people also say that eating panini helps speed muscle recovery, reduce muscle soreness after exercise and reduce the chances of developing delayed onset muscle soreness. Interesting, right??  It does all that while tasting like a cross between watermelon and kiwi.  Yum!

Obviously I had to cut one up and put it in my lunch bag for an afternoon snack!  🙂

And now I’m off to have a cactus and citrus-filled day!

Are there any foods you thought were strange but now find delicious? Have you tried panini or “prickly pear”?

5 thoughts on “Citrus + Cactus!

  1. David (Keep It Up David) says:

    I saw prickly pears at the Farmer’s Market over the weekend, but didn’t pick any up. Maybe I will this upcoming weekend – I’ve never had one before. I can’t quite tell – can you eat the skin/rind? Or do you toss it, and just eat the insides?
    Thanks for the photos – looks delicious.

    • greenplatedinners says:

      Definitely don’t eat the skin–those brown dots are batches of tiny slivers that feel like fiberglass (no good!). You’ll have to be very careful handling it, but once you get the skin off it’s delicious! Can’t wait to hear what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

