Box of Inspiration

“Vision animates, inspires, transforms purpose into action.”-Warren Bennis.

I got a picture message from my hubby Ben Tuesday that looked like this:

It read: “damn! that’s a lot of beads! :)”

I suppose I should back up a bit here.  While we definitely have a lot on Maui, one of the difficulties of living in the most isolated islands in the world is our lack of good beading shops (okay, there are a lot of legitimate difficulties but stick with me here…).   To my knowledge, Maui has only a handful of bead shops (three that I know to be accessible–oh, Ben Franklin makes four).  That’s why I’m always stoked on the bead options when we visit Ben’s hometown Seattle.  My favorite bead shop is in walking distance of the family’s house and carries heaps of beads and accessories!  When I was there this past August I asked one of the workers if she recommended any good online bead/accessory companies and she introduced me to Shipwreck Beads.

I had way too much fun expanding my collection last week and wound up buying an entire box full (obviously) of mostly beading accessories so that I can start selling my jewelry.  I had no idea the box would come so quickly!  At the same time, I also couldn’t remember everything I ordered and it was like receiving a big gift!

Unfortunately I had to wait to open the box because I still had half the work day plus three hours of schoolin’ to get through (ugh).  The twenty-minute drive home took way too long and when I got home I went straight to the box!  Ahh, the simple joys of tools for creation!

Can’t you just imagine all the glorious pieces that will emerge from that pile of stuff? I had ordered these loop-de-loo hoops (yes, that’s the technical term I came up with all by myself) because they looked unique and I want to see what I can come up with.  I was so excited to make a pair of earrings right then and there that I sat down for five minutes and what emerged were these simple shell loop-de-loops (Ben hasn’t even gotten time to name them yet–he’ll probably come up with something cooler).

[Excuse the horrible fluorescent lighting–I wish we had something different at work.]

‘The important thing is to create. Nothing else matters; creation is all.” -Pablo Picasso.

I was so excited to get home last night and try my hand out on wire wrapping those great turquoise pieces!

[my first wire-wrapping!!]


[My second wire-wrapping job! 🙂  Simple yet elegant.]


I am so excited to continue creating fun new things with all my new materials!  I’m thinking of selling my pieces on etsy.com but I’m definitely open to learning about other avenues.  Have you heard of anything that works well?

One thought on “Box of Inspiration

  1. IME BELTRAN says:

    VERY PRETTY HALEY. TURQUOISE AND GOLD GO WELL TOGETHER. LOVE THE LOOP DI LOOPS. ETSY IS A GREAT SITE. I’LL HAVE TO CHECK OUT THIS SITE YOU MENTION. VERY INSPIRING BLOGS YOU GOT GOING. KEEP IT UP!

Leave a Reply

