Running Kula + Buckwheat Pancakes

I seriously cannot believe it’s only Wednesday.  This week has been one of huge trials, reminding me that surrender is not only important, it’s necessary.  Sometimes I wish I could be one of those bloggers who put up multiple posts every day, but I also think it’d get ridiculously boring for anyone to see exactly what I eat for every meal and hear about every single workout I do.  So, here I am posting about this past weekend because it was gorgeous and the buckwheat pancakes were the best we’ve had to date!

Ben and I started our day with our long run for the week.  We decided that we wanted to run up in Kula since the air is always clean and cool and we had 5 miles to run.  We mapped it out taking into consideration elevation, and realized that we’d rather climb 400 feet first and then turn around and coast back to the start.  We ran on a major highway—albeit a less common one—with no sidewalks so we had to be extra cautious and sometimes run on the road, but overall the view was incredible and I felt greatI’m starting to get over my hatred for hills! They ascended and descended the entire time and it forced me to stay present and focused.  I really think that running hills had made my speed faster!  Since I’ve started running nine or ten months ago, I’ve been pacing around 11-12 minute miles.  But last week, I ran 4 miles in 39:30! STOKED!   And even with all the hills, Ben and I finished our 5 miles in 57 minutes 🙂

IMG_3255IMG_3256

[Before and After]

IMG_3259

Oh yeah, and have I mentioned yet that our college team, the Oregon DUCKS are number 1 in the nation right now???!  Yeah, no big deal ;).  We’ve been flying our duck flag ever since.

Once we got home we decided to open up one of the coconuts from the farmer’s market for some fresh coconut water 🙂  Did you know that coconut water is one of the purest liquids you can find on the planet?  Not only that, but it’s full of natural electrolytes, calcium, potassium and magnesium!  Oh yeah, plus it’s so ‘ono! If you can get it straight from the nut, you’ll get the greatest benefit.

IMG_3254

And then our hunger pangs started.  Time for breakfast!  Ben and I adore pancakes, but as selective omnivores we want to be conscious about what we’re feeding our bodies.  We tend to steer clear of refined/white wheat, so over the years we’ve tried many buckwheat pancake recipes.  This one, adapted from the Joy of Cooking to omit wheat flour, butter and dairy, is our favorite!  We’ve finally mastered the fluffy, delicious, gluten-free-low-fat-high nutrient pancake!

IMG_3265

The Perfect Buckwheat Pancakes

[Ingredients]

  • 1 c buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c vegan buttermilk [1 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar, fill the rest of the cup with milk alternative—we used rice milk]
  • 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 egg white

In a large bowl, whisk dry ingredients together.

In a seperate bowl, mix all wet ingredients except egg white.

Pour wet ingredients into the dry and combine with a few quick strokes of the whisk (the batter should be slightly lumpy).

Whisk the egg white until it is stiff but not dry.

Fold the white into the batter just until blended.

IMG_3263 IMG_3262

Heat a skillet on medium-high heat (and be patient until a splash of water sizzles on the surface).

Ladle or pour pancakes to make them about 4’’ in diameter (I use 1/2 c).

Be patient and don’t touch the pancakes until bubbles appear, then flip.

Buckwheat Pancakes

Enjoy! Makes about 8 pancakes (you can easily double the recipe for a bigger family or a bigger ‘opu [tummy]).

Nutrition Facts [2 pancakes]

Calories 165 • Fat 3g Sodium 240mg • Carbs 216g • Fiber 6.2g • Sugar 5.2g • Protein 7g

IMG_3267

These were so delicious (and I was so hungry) that I forgot to take a photo of my pancakes before they were almost pau. I slathered mine in coconut butter and sugar-free black raspberry preserves—so good! I couldn’t get to Ben’s in time because he pretty much inhaled his, which were covered with peanut butter and then drizzled with maple syrup.

5 thoughts on “Running Kula + Buckwheat Pancakes

Leave a Reply

