ABC French Toast

Great November!  I love when new months start on Mondays–and when the first day of the month is followed by a holiday ;).

This weekend flew by, and although I’m sad to report that I spent my entire Sunday working on grad school homework, I did get some goodness in on Saturday!  Ben stayed in bed Saturday morning to listen to the expressions of his health while I made a solo mission to the Upcountry Farmer’s Market followed by six glorious miles in Kula!

When I started running back in January I was ashamed of my sluggish pace and wouldn’t allow Ben (or anyone else, for that matter) to come with me.  But I’ve become more confident about my running after doing 4 miles in under 40 minutes and have since started running with Ben!  We usually do our long run together on the weekends, and this was the first long run I’ve done alone in quite a while.  Although I really missed the company (and the encouragement), it felt really great to listen to my own rhythm and keep my own pace.

On the way home I started thinking about what I’d be fueling my body with for breakfast.  I’ve been itching to try Caitlin’s Grilled Banana Sandwich since I read about it months ago and decided before I walked in the door that it was about time I tried one for myself!  Of course, I am incapable of following recipes and as such had to create my own version 🙂

May I introduce to you to ABC FRENCH TOAST!  Yes.  It is delicious.  And nutritious.  Especially after a long run.

[A]lmond milk : my favorite non-dairy milk alternative (which just became available at Costco!  Woohoo!)

[B]anana : specifically, apple banana–Hawai`i’s dense and sweet version of a banana.

[C]hia seeds : most of us can recall the ch-ch-ch-chia pet infomercials from back-in-the-day, but many–including myself, until recently–realize that chia seeds are edible.  Not only that, they’re excellent sources of nutrition!  A great gluten-free source of  protein, antioxidants and fiber, they also help stabilize blood sugar (reducing cravings and allowing sustained energy) and can absorb 10x their weight in water (which helps endurance athletes stay hydrated)!  Chia seeds provide calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, manganese, copper, iron, molybdenum, niacin, zinc, and even boron.  I buy mine in bulk at Down-to-Earth or Whole Foods and add them to just about anything (shakes, oatmeal, french toast?) since they’re practically tasteless.

IMG_3465

I’ve been hearing a lot about this vegan buttery spread called “Earth Balance” and decided to try some for the first time with this recipe.  Because I just used it as a coating for my skillet, I haven’t come to a verdict yet, but overall the toast was incredible! I also added coconut butter to my ABC French Toast and was so glad I did!  DELICIOUS!

IMG_3468

[A]lmond milk [B]anana [C]hia seed French Toast

[Ingredients]

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tsp earth balance spread.
  • 5 pieces of whole wheat toast (I used Alpine Valley multi-grain with Omega-3 because it’s a favorite in our home)

Whisk together the first 5 ingredients in a bowl large enough to fit a flat piece of bread.

IMG_3452IMG_3454

Heat pan or skillet to medium high heat with about one tsp of earth balance.

Soak one piece of bread at a time in the mixture, letting it sit for about 10 seconds per side.

IMG_3455

In one pan or one  half your skillet,  cook french toast for a few minutes on each side, until both sides are brown.

IMG_3457

Simultaneously (if can, can –  if no can, no can), cook your sliced banana on the opposite side of skillet/in another pan until both sides are brown.

IMG_3458IMG_3467

Enjoy! I enjoyed mine with coconut butter and the banana over top and Ben ate his straight up (no syrup or anything).  Yeah.  They’re that good.

IMG_3460

Nutrition Facts [2 slices french toast + 1/2 small banana (coconut butter not included)]

Calories 342 • Fat 9g (could be lessened by omitting earth balance and/or egg yolks) Sodium 310mg • Carbs 45g • Fiber 8.5g • Sugar 14g • Protein 14g

4 thoughts on “ABC French Toast

Leave a Reply

