Quinoa + Roasted Veggie Salad

Although I’ve been getting more daring with my grains lately, quinoa probably takes the cake for my fave. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s gluten-free, super versatile, a good source of protein, and contains all nine essential amino acids (not to mention a whole slew of nutrients – zinc, magnesium, iron, calcium, etc.).  Or maybe it’s just the word.  KEEEN-WA.  When we first heard of the stuff back in college, Ben decided it was one of his most favorite words.

In any case, I’ve been addicted to this quinoa and roasted veggie salad for years now. I never get tired of it.  I like to grill/roast a bunch of veggies, make a pot of quinoa (in my rice cooker) and eat nothing but quinoa and roasted veggie salad for days.  Over the years we’ve tried quite a few combinations (different dressing, different veggies, etc.).  I like to cook my veggies with the smallest amount of oil possible (because I use a dressing that has olive oil in it), place it on a bed of greens, add some cilantro/goat cheese/avocado, and sometimes add shrimp for an extra source of protein.  It’s my potluck staple and I’ll have it as a meal or as a starter.  Overall this recipe is so easy and versatile, you can’t go wrong.  

IMG_3527

Quinoa + Roasted Veggie Salad

[Ingredients]

[Salad]

  • 2-3 c cooked quinoa (prepare as directed)
  • Thickly sliced vegetables to taste (this day I used 1 large red onion, 1 yellow pepper, 2 medium eggplant, and 2 medium zucchini but I also recommend tomatoes and/or mushrooms (especially portabella)
  • olive oil to coat veggies (I use a spritzer to keep it to a minimum)

IMG_3474

[“Inspired Dressing (a.k.a. the best dressing ever created)]

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1-2 tsp maple syrup

IMG_3469

Place oiled veggies onto grill, skillet, or frying pan on medium-high heat (grill is my first choice, but I’ll take whatever I can get 😉 ) until brown on both sides.  Be patient and allow them to cook uninterrupted–usually at least 5 minutes on each side–until they sweat, before flipping them over (rather than flipping them over multiple times, just flip them once).

IMG_3473IMG_3475

Cut the veggies into bite-sized pieces to your liking.

In a large bowl, mix the veggies with quinoa and add spices if desired.

IMG_3524

In a separate bowl, whisk together all dressing ingredients.

If you’re like me and will be eating this for the next few days, you can cover both the salad and the dressing separately and store them both in the fridge.  When ready to serve, add toppings (avocado and cilantro) and drizzle on some dressing.

IMG_3529

Enjoy! Makes 6-8 servings.

8 thoughts on “Quinoa + Roasted Veggie Salad

  1. Melissa @ HerGreenLife says:

    We also love quinoa and just introduced my grandparents to it. They were happy to try something new, and they said they enjoyed it. We were trying to give them some healthier eating ideas since my grandpa recently has a stroke.

  2. Sues says:

    I could totally eat quinoa salads all day every day! It’s SO good and filling, too. I especially love adding feta to it 🙂 This salad looks fabulous!

  3. Stephane Silva says:

    Thanks for all your healthy meals, I really have to start to take care of my health and this is such a refreshing site that gives me Ideas to stay on track. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

