Note To Self

I’ve been having a hard time staying focused with my running regimen lately.  It could be a combination of any/all of the following:

  1. I’m no longer doing the Turkey Trot – sure, I’m going to be running 8.6 miles on Hawai`i Island while we’re there for Thanksgiving weekend, but I’m no longer running the Turkey Trot up in Kula.  There will be no “official” race time or bib # and thus, no longer any reason to stay accountable to myself.
  2. It’s dark. I’m a morning exerciser – I love the kick-start and energy it gives me for the day, plus by the time the afternoon comes I don’t have the stamina to do a workout 100% [I’m a soak-through-my-shirt, can’t-speak-or-hear-properly-by-the-end-of-a-good-workout kinda gal].  So waking up at 5.30 to be on the road at 6:15 doesn’t so much work anymore–unless I’m willing to invest in one of those super snazzy fluorescent/reflector jackets (not so much).
  3. I haven’t been seeing the same results from running. When I first started running it got me through a plateau and kick-started my metabolism.  When I trained for shorter-distance races, I saw loss.  Now that I’m doing longer distances, I’m ravenous the next day and justify eating more than my caloric range.  Or maybe it’s muscle tone happening.  I have no idea.
  4. Stress. It’s that point in the semester where I should be gathering all the research I’ve done throughout the term to put together my 30-page-papers but haven’t started researching yet :-/ .  It’s bad.   And not the kind of bad that makes you want to de-stress with exercise.  The immobilizing type of bad that makes you want to curl up in bed, sleep + eat everything in sight until everything has passed.

Sometimes you’ve just got to do it. I chalked up yesterday’s inability to run to my body needing one more to recuperate from lift the other day [it’s always important to listen to your body], but last night I got all my stuff packed to get up this morning and go.  No excuses.   And you know what?  The first half-mile sucked, but I did a good 3.5 mile jog this morning and am now bursting with energy!

“It is the set of the sails, not the direction of the wind that determines which way we will go.” –Jim Rohn.

Which brings me to the topic of motivation. The journey of health and wellness isn’t always easy, but over the years I’ve learned what works for me.  And when I realize that my efforts are taking me in the opposite direction as my goals, I re-evaluate and refocus my efforts.

The other day, a friend of mine who is just starting on her serious health journey blogged her frustrations.  The path isn’t easy, but I offered her one of my tips that has changed my health journey forever.  The note to self.

Here was my reply to her post:

“Oh Kersin, I’m sorry that people are such jerks. I remember that feeling all too well =(. What really makes the difference for me is to write out a list of reasons I choose to be healthy [my top reasons are to keep up with my future children, to not have to use an airplane seatbelt extension, and to not get diabetes the way my grandma did]. I usually have about 50+ reasons. Then I write them nicely on pieces of paper and tape them around the house, the car, my office, etc. to remind me of WHY I’m doing this. My computer screen has a note that says “I am conscious” to remind myself to eat mindfully (because that’s a high stress area where I tend to shove shit in my mouth).
You have to remember that this weight loss journey is not just going to be an external change–you’re also going to change immensely internally. Write, express, create… you’ll need to improve yourself emotionally to improve yourself physically.”

Then I realized: why haven’t I shared this with you guys??  I’m sure most of you are on your own healthy journey and could benefit from this.  It’s something that truly helps to remind me of my goals (literally) everywhere I turn.

Here are a few of my reasons:

IMG_3795IMG_3796

[One of the things I’ve always been too self-conscious to do (until a few months ago) was to let Ben piggy-back me].

IMG_3797

[To not get diabetes, high blood pressure, or any health issues – they all run in my family and my beloved Grandma died of complications of diabetes.  Not me.]

IMG_3798IMG_3807

[and to be able to offer support to those friends!]

IMG_3799

[One of my high school classmates asked me if I “had a sister named Haley” once.  Others, who actually knew me well, walk right past me.  When I say hi they tell me they had no idea.]

IMG_3808

[below my vision board – which I also highly encourage!]

I put these in the places I struggle most:

IMG_3794

[the fridge and the computer screen – to remind myself to eat/sit/live mindfully.]

Of course, my biggest and brightest reason:

IMG_3811

IMG_3805

IMG_3810IMG_3809

[Ben keeps all the love notes I write him – those are his notes to self 😉 ]

IMG_3806

How do you stay motivated on your health and wellness journey?

4 thoughts on “Note To Self

  1. Therese says:

    I love your notes!! And I’m the same with piggyback riding. My boyfriend ties to do it and I keep yelling: “I’M GOING TO BREAK YOU BACK!!!” and he always replies with: “I don’t think you realize how tiny you are…”

    Glad to see you got a bit of motivation back!

  2. Stu says:

    Keep kickin ass Haley! You’re an inspiration. However, I think the goal of having Kitty give me a piggyback is not that realistic…

Leave a Reply

