Many Bags

It was an early morning.  I’m feeling overwhelmed with life . school . work . home . many (brilliant!) options .  So I’m going to make it short and sweet today :).

To start, gratitude (the best way to start anything, especially when feeling overwhelmed!):

“There is nothing more genuine than breaking away from the chorus to learn the sound of your own voice.” – Po Bronson

Today I am most grateful for the changing seasons – a reminder that life is cyclical and experiences phases, and that it’s okay (and perfectly natural) for me to do the same personally.  There is a shift happening.  I can feel it.

IMG_3820

[Winter + Kula = Persimmons! Thank you Mother Nature!]

IMG_3818

IMG_3813

[the long drought has finally come to an end – the grass is coming back upcountry]

IMG_3815

[Our starfuit tree is super happy!  Welcome back, starfruit 🙂 ]

And also, just for funsies (and because I continue to be teased about it) : the many bags I carry everyday!

I try my best to stay organized and keep things separate so that I know where everything is, but I’ll admit, with such a busy schedule, I feel like I’m constantly on a scavenger hunt (which bag is my lipstick in, again?!).  I’ve actually simplified it down to these four by combining my purse things into my work bag, leaving the jewelry-making bag out of the equation, and keeping my fitness instructor things in my general workout bag.

IMG_3541

[The work bag : Lauhala]

For, you know, obvious work things: scheduler, notepad, pens, phone, wallet, keys.  Work = 40 hours a week (sometimes less, if I can schedule things right).

IMG_3537

[The Lunch Bag]

Because 5 small meals a day aren’t going to fit in my work bag.  And people would think I was crazy (am I not?) if I took up the entire work fridge with my food. Most days of the week I’m gone from 6:45 am to 10 pm, so only breakfast is eaten at home.

IMG_3539

[The School Bag]

For the laptop, school books, etc.  It should be filled with research but I haven’t gotten there yet :-\.  Classtime each week takes up 9 hours.  Plus study + research time and group meetings.

IMG_3542

[The Workout Bag]

At least two pairs of workout clothes (just in case I can fit in a second workout or someone spontaneously asks me to join them for some endorphins – it happens more often than you might imagine), running shoes, a fitness towel + shower towel, shampoo/face wash, deodorant, iPod, TurboKick rounds for teaching, etc.  I spend at least an hour a day working out, including the two TurboKick classes I teach every week.

I lug these bags (+ grocery bags, sometimes) up and down the hill of my driveway every morning and every evening (Tracey, my dear friend and Chiropractor, is probably shaking her head at me right now).  Life definitely feels chaotic and overwhelming at the moment, but I’ll be honest – I don’t think I could handle it any other way.  I am, however, looking forward to finishing my first semester of graduate school and getting some down time to reorganize my life.

How do you stay organized? Do you schlep around as many bags as I do?

3 thoughts on “Many Bags

  1. sanoe kaaihue says:

    I so feel your pain, literally. You’ve seen where I live lol…I can’t exactly just step outside my door and get right into my car. I always have 3 bags: workout bag with all the fixings (hah), my regualr small bag (for keys, wallet…all the goodies) and my lunch bag. I’ve found these little bags that fold into a hacky-sack sized pouch to keep in all 3 of those bags, it helps me a lot…

Leave a Reply

