The Koru Collection and Newbies

Although times are pretty hectic, I’ve been trying hard to keep up with another passion of mine, Ho`omaika`i Jewelry :).

During football season, I spent my Saturdays cross-legged at a small Japanese-style table with my beads laid out in front of me. As the Oregon Ducks made their way up the rankings, I created.  This past Saturday, for Civil War [University of Oregon vs. Oregon State University], we sat at a bar and I made a few pieces.  In the few hours we were there, I made about six pieces.  But I only came home with three.

Our waitress saw that I was making jewelry and asked if she could buy some before we left (umm, OF COURSE!).  She’s actually really lucky because she got completely original Ho`omaika`i stuff that was never photographed!  I’ve also gotten a few e-mail inquiries about my jewelry and am super excited to be selling my stuff to people who really see the beauty in it!  🙂

The other day, since I stayed home to procrastinate get work done, I made a few new pieces.  I also finally got around to photographing a few of the earrings that I just never got around to.  Hope you enjoy!

Ho`omaika`i pieces are made with true aloha spirit and make great gifts! If you are interested in making a purchase or setting up a trunk show, please contact me via comment or email at haleysrabago@gmail.com.  I would love to work with you to create your perfect piece!

First, I introduce to you the all-new Koru Collection.

Koru is the Maori name given to new fern fronds (I first found meaning in the symbol while receiving my incredible moko/tattoo in Aotearoa and then loved the meaning so much that I based our wedding on the concept).  The koru spiral represents new life and the undeveloped potential for all of life’s endeavors.  It symbolizes renewal, transformation, and creation in all forms – the unfurling of new ideas and opportunities.  The symbol embodies growth and enlightenment and reminds us that life is full of cycles and change.

IMG_4445
[Tourmaline Koru – blue tourmaline offers protection, releases tension, and attracts inspiration – pink tourmaline brings about love and assurance]

IMG_4442IMG_4444

IMG_4448

[Carnelian Koru Carnelian increases physical energy, personal power, creativity, and compassion]

IMG_4451IMG_4449

IMG_4440

[Unakite, Rose Quartz and Tourmaline KoruRose Quartz attracts unconditional love and heals the heart – pink tourmaline brings about love and assurance]

IMG_4436IMG_4439


And now, to the new photographed jewelry (I’ll be updating the Jewelry section asap).

IMG_4402

[Tight Turquoise Loop-de-Loop]

IMG_4406

[Green Loop-de-Loop]

IMG_4407

[Heather]

IMG_4410

[Disco Drop]

IMG_4411

[Crystal Harmony]

IMG_4413

[Double-Dutch in Green]

IMG_4414

[Double-Dutch in LadyBug]

Ho`omaika`i pieces are made with true aloha spirit and make great gifts! If you are interested in making a purchase or setting up a trunk show, please contact me via comment or email at haleysrabago@gmail.com.  I would love to work with you to create your perfect piece!


5 thoughts on “The Koru Collection and Newbies

Leave a Reply

