Southern Style Cornbread

I have to just come out and tell you all how excited I am to 1) be done with my first semester of graduate school and 2) get the next two weeks off from work!  True, Hawai’i’s whole furlough situation sucks (and since I’m a casual hire I don’t get benefits, nor do I get paid over the break), but I am in serious need of some down time!  I have so much to write about, so many photos to capture, so many pieces of jewelry waiting to be made, so many books to read (for fun!)!  I have so much planned for those two weeks!  Alas, I have two more days of work and I must not get ahead of myself [I totally feel like a school-aged kid losing all focus and motivation right before holiday break].

So in the meantime, I thought I’d share with you a recipe that I absolutely adore – Whole Wheat Southern Style Corn Bread!  It is so good, in fact, that I always have to give away half (or have Ben hide it) to keep from over-indulging (I’m serious – I have no self-control when it comes to cornbread this good!)  We especially like it with veggie or turkey chili :).  This cornbread is awesome in a skillet, although a regular pan (or even muffin tins) work fine.  And the recipe does have an egg in it, but could easily be made vegan by subbing the egg for 1 Tbsp flax meal + 3 Tbsp water.

l922115990

Whole Wheat Southern Style Corn Bread

[Ingredients]

  • 1 c cornmeal
  • 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 4 Tbsp honey
  • 1/4 c unpacked brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 c “buttermilk” (put one and a half tablespoons of vinegar in a measuring cup and fill the rest of the way with rice/soy/almond milk)
  • 1/3 c  canola oil
  • 1/4 c very warm water

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  If you have a skillet, place it in the oven to heat up.

Whisk (the lazy way of sifting) together all the dry ingredients.

Place the oil, 1 cup of the “buttermilk”, honey and the water into the dry ingredients and whisk to combine.  The batter will become thin and puffy (that means the vinegar is doing it’s job!).

Remove the skillet from the oven and coat it very well with oil.

Pour batter into the skillet.

Bake for about 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy! Makes sixteen pieces.  We sometimes drizzle honey over top – just to make it even more decadent 🙂

Nutrition Facts [1 slice]

Calories 116 • Fat 5g Sat. Fat .5g • Sodium 90mg • Carbs 17g • Fiber 1g Protein 1.5g


3 thoughts on “Southern Style Cornbread

    • greenplatedinners says:

      Haha, greatest idea ever, right??

      It is yummy =). And to be honest, I was worried about the whole wheat flour (which is why I only did half whole wheat), but it came out great! I like testing limits ;).

  1. Alli says:

    So funny you just commented..I was just about to put a comment on yours and saw you on my blog! We were on the same thought process! Your cornbread sounds so nice and simple. I haven’t tried the buttermilk method you talked about…that is a great idea, because I buy buttermilk from the store for one recipe, and end up wasting the rest. So homemade with milk on hand would be so much better!

Leave a Reply

