“Healthy Cookie” #1: Quinoa Ginger Snaps

While Ben and I were at the grocery store last week (during my glorious two-week furlough), he asked what I felt like making.  Our subsequent conversation went something like this:

Haley: “I really wanna bake, but I’m afraid of baking something delicious and then eating it all.  And I definitely don’t want to make something unhealthy and give it to someone… that’s like me saying, ‘I love you so much I wanna give you some fat to clog your arteries.’”

Ben: “Mmm, definitely.  Oh!  How’s this?  Why don’t you think of a baking recipe and then make so many healthy substitutions that only we would eat them (as opposed to our sugar-eating friends/family)?”

Haley: “Brilliant!  I’ll keep half a dozen out and then freeze the rest.  You can freeze cookies, yeah?”

Ben: “I think so… but if we can’t, we’re probably doing ourselves a favor anyway.”

That night we picked up some molasses, dark chocolate chips, and applesauce.  I proceeded to create three “healthy cookie” recipes and had so much fun baking again!  The freezer is now crowded with yummy treats for special occasions!

The other two recipes (soon to come) are great, but they taste decadent and heavy – the way cookies always feel to me – definitely special-occasion cookies.  These ginger snaps, on the other hand, are the perfect random snack that leave me feeling energized rather than weighed down!

I used Ash’s Ingenious Quinoa Ginger Snap recipe (which is healthy to begin with), cut a bunch of the sugar, subbed the oil for unsweetened applesauce, and used a whole cup of quinoa for added goodness (namely fiber and vegetarian protein).  They came out great!  I liked them best warm out of the oven – they were chewy with just the right amount of crunch from the quinoa – and since they’re vegan you can try a bit of the batter raw Smile.  Ben and I don’t eat much sugar so we like the fact that they’re not too sweet, but since I am a huge fan of the ginger-and-dark-chocolate combo, I plan on adding dark chocolate chunks to my next batch of these (I may or may not have eaten half a dozen straight out of the oven, leading to an intense stomach ache).

IMG_4982

Quinoa Ginger Snaps

[Ingredients]:

  • 2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp coarse Hawaiian/Kosher salt
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp ground ginger
  • 3/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 1/4 c almond milk (or milk substitute)
  • 1/4 c unpacked brown sugar
  • 1 c quinoa (red or white – not cooked, just rinsed)

IMG_4981

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Rinse quinoa (you’ll be using it raw, not cooked).

Line a pan with parchment paper and set aside.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, coriander, and cloves in a large bowl.

In another bowl, whisk together applesauce, molasses, almond milk, and sugar.

Pour wet ingredients into the dry and mix just until incorporated.

Stir in quinoa.IMG_4972

Spoon tablespoon-sized amounts of dough onto the cookie sheet and flatten slightly with the palm of your hand (they will expand somewhat during baking, so keep about 1-1/2 inches between cookies – you should definitely push down these cookies, because they don’t flatten out with applesauce).

Bake for about 10 minutes or until the cookies are lightly browned.

Let cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. Then remove and finish cooling on a wire rack.

Enjoy! Makes about 24 cookies.

IMG_4985

Nutrition Facts [1 cookie (but you won’t be able to just have one)]

Calories 78 • Fat .5g Sodium 26mg • Carbs 16g • Fiber 2g • Sugar 4.5g • Protein 3g

6 thoughts on ““Healthy Cookie” #1: Quinoa Ginger Snaps

  1. Alli says:

    Oh my! What an interesting quinoa spin on the ginger snap…they look so good! I would like to make a peanut butter sandwich out of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

