“Healthy Cookie” #3 : Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

In the past few days I’ve highlighted a few healthy cookie recipes – starting with Quinoa Ginger Snaps, the perfect random snack that doesn’t weigh you down, followed by Ben’s favorite crispy-on-the-outside, chewy-on-the-inside Vegan Granola Cookies.  To conclude, we move to the most decadent of the three.  The [wanna-be] chocolate chip cookie – one of my biggest indulgences when I stray from healthy eating because you just can’t beat a good chocolate chip cookie.

But I had to try, right?

I used a legit chocolate chip cookie recipe and swapped quite a few things to make it ‘healthier’.  I made semi-sweet chocolate chips the star of the show (and lessened the sugar content a lot) by omitting all other sugars; I added flaxseed, oats, and used whole wheat flour rather than white flour to up the nutritional profile; I subbed the butter for applesauce, and I used a bit of peanut butter to replace some fat and add flavor and texture.

The result? Delicious!  They were incredible warm from the oven and even better raw (the greatest thing about vegan baking)! [Be forewarned: the following photos were taken after freezing, so they’re a bit stiff.] They aren’t your traditional oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, but after all,  I wasn’t looking for them to be (that was the whole point of the “healthy cookie” challenge).  They have just the right amount of deep sweetness from the dark chocolate and make an excellent substitute for “real” oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (I didn’t feel the need to need to over-indulge after eating one, nor did I have a sugar-hangover).

IMG_4877

Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (vegan)

[Ingredients]

[dry]

  • 2 c rolled oats
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c ground flaxseed/bran
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

[wet]

  • 1/2 c almond milk (or other milk substitute)
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 c semi-sweet/dark chocolate chips
  • 2 “eggs” [2 Tbsp flaxseed with 6 Tbsp water]
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter

IMG_4879

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together vegan “egg” mixture and set aside.

Whisk all dry ingredients together in a large bowl (again – the lazy way to sift 😉 )

Place all wet ingredients (including egg) in a separate bowl.

Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined.

Use a tablespoon to drop cookies onto a greased/non-stick cookie sheet [I left mine as drops but you could push them down for flatter cookies].

Bake for about 10-15 minutes, or until the bottoms are lightly browned.

Enjoy! Makes about 24 cookies (if you abide by the Tbsp-sized cookie rule).  We have a bunch in our freezer and they’re pretty good warmed in the toaster oven :).

Nutrition Facts [one cookie]

Calories 70 • Fat 2.8g Sodium 35mg • Carbs 15g • Fiber 2.5g • Sugar 1g • Protein 2g

I know that the science of baking can be overwhelming and intimidating, but I encourage you to try new things by substituting ingredients and/or trying something completely different!  I had a blast baking again – as I continue to fiddle with ingredients and proportions I get increasingly more confident with my abilities.

I love healthier recipes because they satisfy cravings without sending me into a health tail-spin.  Less sugar and more nutrients create more energy, a happier body and a clearer mind!

3 thoughts on ““Healthy Cookie” #3 : Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. sanoe kaaihue says:

    I love cookies!! And I LOVE oatmeal cookies. Can’t wait to try this. By the way, I was telling our baker next door about your vegan cookie recipes and she wants to make them all. She made an awesome vegan ginger snap cookie for christmas but she likes trying other peoples recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

