Chicken Breast Meat Loaf

Aloha kakou!

Well, it’s Thursday and my head still feels like it’s about to explode with pressure. 😦  Aside from laying in bed and using up two huge boxes of Kleenex in three days, I’ve had to teach my TurboKick classes this week because it was too late-notice to find a sub.  I’m not sure if the sweat sessions have helped or harmed me, but I’ve been envisioning my body cleansing itself.  I am so grateful to have an incredible body that has the ability to heal itself.

My meals have been totally out of whack with this cold–I’m really not hungry, but I know that fueling myself with the right nutrients will help me heal.  One of the nutrients I’m almost always low on is iron, which is probably the only reason I keep meat in my diet anymore.  As a selective omnivore, I make sure to get any meat I buy from a legit source – sources that don’t use antibiotics, hormones, steroids, or plump up their meat with sodium.  My Dad actually eats chickens from the property he lives on, but I don’t really have the time to be plucking feathers or gutting things myself, so I opt for Whole Foods.

I had sort of forgotten how much I loved meatloaf until I tried a turkey meatloaf from Mana Foods last year.  Since then, I enjoy making meatloaf as a source of dense protein and iron.  I’ve used ground turkey as well as ground chicken from Whole Foods as a base before, but when I got to the store last week, they were out of both ::gasp::!  I paced the poultry section for a few minutes and even asked the dude behind the counter if he would grind up some chicken for me, but he said I’d lose about half of it and it wouldn’t be worth the effort.  Ben tried to convince me that we could make something else, and I finally gave in.

We left with a few chicken breasts and no recipe in mind (I was set on meatloaf!).  Once I got home, I looked through my Cooking Light magazine and came across a chicken breast meat loaf!  Oh my gosh, why hadn’t I thought of grinding my own chicken breast in a food processor??

I’m really not used to handling meat anymore, and the sight of chicken meat being pulverized was a bit tough for me, but once that was out of the way, the rest just came together.

For not eating meat very often, Ben and I ate through both loafs in a matter of days.  This meatloaf is surprisingly tender and moist. Rather than using breadcrumbs, I used oatmeal (because my body doesn’t like wheat much).  Using chicken breasts reduces the amount of fat significantly (versus beef or pork), and you can add in whatever veggies are in the fridge to make the loaf even greater!

IMG_5291

Chicken Breast Meat Loaf

[Ingredients]

  • 2 lbs chicken breast (no skin)
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 small bell pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 c oats (I used regular oatmeal oats)
  • 1/4 c almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • salt and pepper

[Topping]

  • 1/2 c ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp mustard [I used the kind with thick seeds in it]
  • 2 Tbsp Piccapeppa [or your choice of hot/bbq sauce]

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a food processor, process chicken breasts until they’re ground [you’ll be amazed by how fast it turns into ground meat!].

Add in the rest of the ingredients and pulse until everything is combined.

IMG_5268

Spray two loaf pans with olive oil.

Place mixture into the loaf pans.

IMG_5271

Bake for 30 minutes.

Mix together all ingredients for the topping.

Add the topping to the loaves and bake for another 30 minutes (totaling 1 hour cook time).

IMG_5273

Enjoy! Makes 16 servings [8 servings per loaf].

Nutrition Facts [one piece]

Calories 98 • Fat 1.5g Sodium 195mg • Carbs 5g • Fiber 1g • Sugar 1g • Protein 15g

Here’s hoping all this nutrition helps me heal quickly and effortlessly 🙂

7 thoughts on “Chicken Breast Meat Loaf

  1. Momma says:

    WOW this looks so yummy… hahaha psych I actually got to eat it and it is DEEE-licious!! Yeah, why not grind your own?? GO GIRL! ❤

  2. inmytummy says:

    I hope you feel better soon! And we loved Mana Foods when we were in Maui. We being me and my husband. Okay, really, I loved it, but my husband doesn’t get excited about natural foods the way I do.

  3. Katie says:

    We were discussing in my child development class the other day this study where children were allowed to eat whatever they wanted, whenever they wanted ( yeah it sounds crazy) but over the course of the week they filled all their dietary needs naturally. They listened to their what their bodies were craving, but my colleagues seemed a little shocked by this. I said, don’t we all do this, or should do this?

    I brought up this story because while I would prefer to eat less meat, since I started working out 3 weeks ago (including strength training which I’ve never committed to before) I’ve been craving meat. I guess my body wants the protein and the iron! And I guess this is a situation where the body dominates over the mind.

    I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

