Fall Break Recap

Life has been whizzing by for me lately.  It was really nice to have Ben home for Fall Break last week, but I was so busy with school, practicum, and meetings that I didn’t have much spare time to hang with him [if I could, I would hang out with Ben 24/7].  Consider the fact that he got through three books in five days, though, and it’s pretty obvious that he enjoyed his well-needed down time.

Even if we didn’t get to spend every moment of every day together, we did get to do some fun things during Mr. Ben’s week off from teaching.  The highlights:

IMG_7441IMG_7448

roasting, shelling, re-roasting + cracking 20 lbs. of macadamia nuts [given to us by a neighbor]

IMG_7451

geeking out on our new favorite kitchen gadget [an electric kettle!  My prize for going 30 days without sugars!]

IMG_7467IMG_7465

sharing a ridiculously amazing lunch at Prana Nui Tribe in Ha`iku.  

IMG_7477

celebrating fall with a long hike in the Makawao Forest with Momma

IMG_7482

attempting a raw, vegan lime pie [decent but not blog-worthy – sorry] Sad smile

IMG_7486

enjoying the bountiful starfruit [it’s baaaack!]

IMG_7484

reconnecting on our anniversary by going for a hike in ‘Iao Valley, lounging pool-side, and having a fantastic dinner at Monkeypod…

 haley&benwedding 370ps

We capped off Ben’s Fall Break last night by reminiscing about that very special day two years ago [we pulled out the wedding box, looked through some photos and cards, and reread our vows]. 

Today it’s back to reality.  Progress reports, family visiting, practicum leading straight into class, adjustments, windshield-wiper fluid, scrounging something for lunch, acupuncture appointment, volunteering, laundry, protein.  Did we forget Mom’s backpack?  Have a beautiful day!  I’ll see you around 10:30 tonight. 

Truth be told though, even with all the mayhem and scheduling, as our alarm went off at 5.30 this morning, the only thing I could think was I am the luckiest girl in the universe.

9 thoughts on “Fall Break Recap

  1. AmandaonMaui says:

    OMG I couldn’t imagine working through that many mac nuts. They’re tough little buggers. 🙂

    I still haven’t tried Tribe. Evenings are the only times we really can get out for a meal, except on the weekends (and I always forget about what’s in Haiku). Monkeypod is also something I have yet to try, but I should. It seems like it might be reasonably priced. Have you tried Market Fresh Bistro? Their dinners are phenomenal (but pricey), and lunch is delightful (and well priced) as is breakfast (better deal than Denny’s or Ruby’s).

    Would that forest be the Olinda forest? I love walking up there.

    Starfruit is delicious. Enjoy!

    Oh, and I love my electric kettle too. I have one with temperature selection as well (Breville kind).

    • greenplatedinners says:

      Tribe is amazzzzing! I can’t wait to go back soon. We just so happened to make it to Monkeypod during their happy hour, so everything was VERY reasonably priced =) I have yet to try Market Fresh Bistro, but I hear really good things!

      The photo was from the Makawao Forest Reserve =)

  2. Angela @ The Chicken Scoop says:

    Beautiful photos!!!
    And I HAVE to show my husband this post! I have been begging him to get an electric tea kettle and my standards just went WAY up! I love that yours has temperatures! We hate it that our french press coffee gets cold so quickly (but tastes oh so good). What brand is this one???
    Oh and I thought of you the other day as I was buying my Alaea Hawaiian Sea Salt. Haha! I just told myself I was just sharing a little bit of the heaven you have!
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

